Black Friday V: A Year-in-Review Celebration!

POSTED: November 15th, 2016

The Puritan presents Black Friday V

BLACK FRIDAY V is almost here! Join the editors, staff, and readers of The Puritan for our much-anticipated annual year-in-review event—now a fun-filled highlight of every fall literary season.

BLACK FRIDAY V is a night of celebrations to announce the winners of our Fifth Annual Thomas Morton Memorial Prize in Literary Excellence, judged by Rawi Hage and Jan Zwicky, for both fiction and poetry. Help us congratulate our winners in grand style (along with special guest Rawi Hage, who will be in attendance to celebrate).

Secondly, BLACK FRIDAY V sees the electronic launch of Issue 35: Fall 2016—a fantastic collection of fiction, poetry, and journalism to end a great calendar year.

Thirdly, and to usher in the glad tidings and the bountiful work published over the past year, recent Puritan authors will be providing short (short) live readings. These writers include:

Marianne Apostolides,
Nicole Chin,
Krista Foss,
Christine Fischer Guy,
Khalida Venus Hassan,
David Huebert,
Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer,
Canisia Lubrin,
Dave D D Miller,
Shane Neilson, &
Matthew Tierney.

This is a must-see night of electrifying literary entertainment. Drinks, FOOD (yes, food!), and gnarly tunes will be on deck, and happy people will be plentiful.

We so hope you’ll help us warm Mây Cafe in Toronto on November 25th. Celebrations!

WHEN: Friday, November 25, 2016; starts at 7:30 p.m.; we end at last call.
WHERE: Mây Cafe (876 Dundas Street West, Toronto, ON)

Note: Mây Cafe is not 100% accessible. There is access to the bar/lounge on the main floor, but unfortunately the washrooms are in the basement.

Bios for our readers:

Marianne Apostolides is the author of five books, three of which have been translated. Her forthcoming book, Deep Salt Water (BookThug, 2017), is being featured in a nine-month interdisciplinary project on Room Magazine‘s website. Her previous non-fiction work, Voluptuous Pleasure, was listed among the Top 100 Books of 2012 by Toronto’s Globe & Mail. Apostolides is a recipient of the Chalmers Arts Fellowship.

Nicole Chin is the author of the House of Anansi Press Digital Short, Shooting the Bitch, which received the McIllquham Foundation Prize for best original short story. Her work has appeared in Joyland Magazine, Found Press, The Puritan, and is forthcoming in Room Magazine. She has been long-listed for the House of Anansi Broken Social Scene Short Story Contest and is a graduate of the MFA in Creative Writing program at the University of Guelph.

Krista Foss’ first novel Smoke River was published by McClelland & Stewart (2014.) Her short fiction has twice been a finalist for the Journey Prize and her essay writing was nominated for a National Magazine Award, won the PRISM international creative non-fiction contest (2016) and will be featured in the forthcoming edition of Great Canadian Essays. She holds an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of British Columbia (2011), and lives in Hamilton, Ontario where she cycles with abandon while dangerously caffeinated.

Christine Fischer Guy’s debut novel, The Umbrella Mender, was published in 2014. Her short fiction has appeared in Canadian and US journals and has been nominated for the Journey and Pushcart Prizes. She’s an award-winning journalist who currently contributes to the LA Review of Books, The Millions, Hazlitt and Ryeberg.comand she teaches creative writing at the School for Continuing Studies at the University of Toronto.

Khalida Venus Hassan‘s story “Complicit” was published in The Puritan‘s Summer 2016 issue. She is a recent graduate of the University of Guelph’s Creative Writing MFA—where she was, by far, the best dancer in the program.

David Huebert is the author of the poetry collection We Are No Longer The Smart Kids In Class (Guernica 2015). His fiction has appeared in journals such as Grain, Matrix, Broken Pencil, and The Puritan. His work has also garnered several prizes including The Dalhousie Review short story contest, The Sheldon Currie Fiction Prize, and the 2016 CBC Short Story Prize.

Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer’s publications include the novels All the Broken Things, Perfecting, and The Nettle Spinner. Her short fiction has appeared in Granta Magazine, The Walrus, and Storyville. She is a PhD Candidate in English Literature at the University of Toronto, where she works on eighteenth century auto-fiction and theories of creativity.

Canisia Lubrin has contributed to journals including Room, Arc, CV2 and This Magazine. Lubrin’s debut poetry collection, Voodoo Hypothesis, is forthcoming in 2017—of which the title poem was published in The Puritan.

D.D. Miller is a Toronto-based writer, who teaches in the English department at Humber College. His first book was the 2014 story collection David Foster Wallace Ruined My Suicide and Other Stories (A Buckrider Book). His latest is Eight-Wheeled Freedom (Wolsak and Wynn), a social history of the sport of roller derby.

Shane Neilson is a poet and physician from New Brunswick now living in Oakville, Ontario. He is a Vanier Scholar researching the representations of pain in Canadian literature in the English and Cultural Studies Department at McMaster University. He will publish Dysphoria with PQL in 2017. Most recently, he was made a finalist for the Seattle Review Chapbook contest by Claudia Rankine and was also a finalist for the Marsh Hawk Press Poetry Prize with judge Mark Doty.

Matthew Tierney’s most recent book is Probably Inevitable (from Coach House Books), which won a Trillium Book Award in 2013. He is a former winner of the P.K. Page Founders’ Award and a K.M. Hunter Award. He lives quite happily in the east end of Toronto.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Inanna Ad

2017-young-buck-web-400-x-400 (1)



Spec contest web ad_400x400

hlr_sq_web_puritan (1)


Fiddlehead Ad




Maisonneuve_Puritan_400x400 (1)

2017-09-13 Puritan Web

Glass Buffalo_Puritan (400 x 400px)-no french


ASU Superstition Review (2) (1)